The Art of Thrifting

In lights of the greatness that is The Heist, Macklemore and Ryan Lewis’ new album. I thought there was not a better topic to tackle than thrift shopping.  I am going to be very honest, I really don’t enjoy thrift shopping.  I go to the thrift store mostly to find weird things to wear on theme days. But you know what, I’m ready to be as cool as my hipster friends and Macklemore, so I am going to attempt to try out the thrifting thing again.
I am going to give my fellow thrift store loathers some helpful hints to tackle the beast that is the thrift store.
1. Realize that most of everything that is in the store needs to be altered, modified or updated.  It is rare that you’ll walk in to your run of the mill thrift store and expect that everything will work for you as is. If you come I with that assumption, you won’t be as intimidated.
2. Wash the clothes. For all the people shower their thrift finds without washing them… I am judging the hell out of you. I shouldn’t even have to elaborate on why this is nasty,  but i’ll do it for that one person who wants to contest me.  Clothes carry history. Thrift store clothes carry the wear and tear, aging signs, and smells of that history. You’re now wearing and smelling like dead ancestors… If I need to explain more, I’ll just deem you as a lost cause. Stink on my friend.

3. Go in with a plan.  I say go in the store with a plan of what you’re looking for, and be open to finding other stuff. For me, thrift stores are far too overwhelming and unorganized for me to just browse.

4. Take someone who’s good at it.  Going shopping with someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing could be funny, but probably probably not productive. So bring 1 of both.
If nothing else, hopefully this helps.

Friends. I’m excited to embark on this challenge together, and hopefully we can collectively change our attitudes towards thrifting. Honestly, I just want to be as cool as Macklemore. It’s been a while since I like a dope rapper that didn’t scare the hell out of me… (Sorry Eminem).
I’ll see how this goes, and if you like, I’ll update you on how it goes.
Posted By: O.M.
@omarimcneil
Cult.ivate

One thought on “The Art of Thrifting

Leave a comment